What Are the 7 Chakras according to indian myth?

1 Answer(s)


The chakras are subtle energy centers located on the body from the base of the spine to the top of the head. There are seven major chakras positioned vertically along theSushumna nadi or the axial channel. Each chakra with its mantra governs a specific element, plane of existence and bodily or mental function. All chakras should be healthy and balanced in order to lead a fulfilling life.

Chakras are dynamic energy pockets, 4-6 inches in diameter that control and energize the vital organs of our body both physical as well as mental. To empower and enervate our lives, these chakras need to be cleansed, nurtured, and enhanced through gemstones or crystal therapy, exercises and mudras or finger postures.

The chakras are:

Sahasrara Chakra: The Crown Chakra

This chakra is situated at the crown or top of the head and is the state of pureconsciousness. In Sanskrit, 'sahasrara' means thousand. This is the chakra with thousand petals; 964 outer violet and 12 inner golden petals. This chakra is a source of divine or cosmic energy and enhanced crown chakra diverts one’s focus from the materialistic to spiritual.

Ajna Chakra: The Third-eye Chakra

This chakra is located between the brows. It’s a larger chakra with two petals. Its color is white though it changes with the physiological state of the person to yellow, deep blue, violet or indigo. The mantra is Om and its element is mind. The presiding deity is Ardhanarishvara, who is a half male, half female Shiva / Shakti or Hakini. It is responsible for intellectual development, wisdom, vision, concentration and meditation. It is linked to the pineal gland and eyes. Its plane of existence is Tapa.

Visuddha Chakra: The Throat Chakra

This chakra is located at the throat. It is depicted as a silver crescent within a white circle, has sixteen turquoise petals. Its mantra is "Ham" and its element is ether, the medium of sound. The presiding deity is Sadashiva or Panchavaktra Shiva, with 5 heads and 4 arms, and Shakini is the Shakti goddess. The color is blue or smoke grey. It is responsible for speaking and communications and growth through expression.It is linked to thyroid and parathyroid glands. Its plane of existence is Jana.


Anahata Chakra: The Heart Chakra

This chakra is situated at the heart. It is a circular flower with 12 green petals. Its mantra is "Yam" and its element is air. The presiding deity is Ishana Rudra Shiva, and Goddess Shakti is Kakini. The colors are red, green, golden, pink. It controls the heart and higher emotions like compassion. It is linked to the thymus gland, lungs, heart and hands. Its plane of existence is 'Maha.'

Manipuraka Chakra: The Navel Chakra

This chakra is situated at the navel / solar plexus, located at the hollow area between the ribs. The chakra is symbolized by a downward pointing triangle and has ten petals. Itsmantra is "Ram" and its element is fire. The presiding deity is Braddha Rudra with goddess Lakini as Shakti. Its color is yellow-green and blue. It is responsible for digestion and lower emotions. It is linked to the adrenal, pancreas and digestive organs. Its plane of existence is 'Svarga.'

Swadhisthana Chakra: The Sex Chakra

This chakra is situated below the navel, pubic center or groin. The sacral chakra is symbolized by a white lotus within which lies a crescent moon, with six vermilion petals. Itsmantra is "Vam" and its element is water. The color is vermillion. It controls sexual functions, reproduction and sensual joy in general. It is also linked to the kidneys and bladder. Its plane of existence is 'Bhuvar.'

Muladhara Chakra: The Root or Base Chakra

This chakra is located at the base of the spine. The presiding deity is Ganesha and MaShakti Dakini. It is symbolized by a lotus with four petals. Its mantra is 'Lam.' The element is prithvi or earth. The colors are red and orange. This controls instinct essential for survival, basic bodily functions, and basic human potentiality for a grounded existence. Its plane of existence is 'Bhu.'

Like   0
Your Answer